Simple rules to make your development stay on track

Do not try to gain time by using a weak design.

Always consider the modular and generic design over the one piece specialized one.

Always think twice about what your code can’t handle before starting.

Appearance should always be good as it is the first thing users will see.

You’ll always figure out you can’t do something after having coded the most part so think some more!

Focus on doing smaller working parts over time instead of the big picture at once.

Never forget your original goal but consider addind meaningful additions to it over time.

Fight for your ideas if you believe they are cleaner implementions and will make you gain time over the course of development even if on the moment they seem longer and more complex to implement.

Choose a technology that allows you to do what you want to do as quick and easily as possible and not building a project with one because you like it.

Consider using various programming languages if some part of your project rely on aspects that some languages focus more into.

Be open minded, watch for technologies you hadn’t considered and always try to learn more as you can always reuse knowledge at some point.

Document all tasks that you plan on doing various time during development as it will make you gain time.

12 thoughts on “Simple rules to make your development stay on track

  1. Very good points for keeping on track! Sorry I haven’t been able to contribute to Tepee3D like I had hoped. I haven’t been able to contribute to any projects lately, or even my blog, unfortunately. Best wishes for a smooth launch. This summer I will definitely try writing a module! What VCS are you using? And are you using Github? I do not have an account there but I suppose I should!

    • Thanks ! Don’t worry I understand it’s hard to find spare time ! We are using git repositories on Assembla and Gitorious. If there’s any advantage to it we might put it on GitHub as well but Gitorious works perfectly for the moment.

      • Ah, I should have known you were using Gitorious, considering I think I cloned your repo a while back. I will look into making an account if I get to writing a module.

      • Any chance I can grab that alpha release? The download buttons on the site don’t seem to be working. Otherwise, did you ever fix your build process on Windows? I just got a VS 2012 x64 compile done with all the features. 😉

      • We fixed the build process on windows and are currently working on an installer that will ship Tepee3D along with Qt5 and our fork of Qt3D with all the patches. We’ll be ready in about two days and I’ll let you know so that you can try the release. Thank you for your interest !

  2. I must say that I was pretty blown-away by your alpha release. Very sleek interface and idea for a UI. Also, the performance was great! 200 FPS at 1080p on my workstation (it wasn’t built for gaming!). That gives you plenty of room to throw in some fancy particle effects/shaders 😉

    After seeing what QML can do though, I think I’m going to have to get around to publishing my own application. Most of my work isn’t open source thanks to what I am usually working on, but hopefully I can push out an application in my free-time that’s semi-useful.

    If I had to give the alpha release some critique, I’d say it was the slide-out menus. They are a bit buggy to pull out. Also regarding the menus is multiple ones open at one time. Perhaps you could have one menu open at a time?

    As for a suggestion, the plugins window should be changed a bit in my opinion. If you are familiar with the new Metro UI design that’s popping up, I think a border and a checkmark would make a lot of sense for an activated plugin. You could easily store a toggled state in your model (if that’s what you are using for the view… I bet), then a state/transition would be pretty easy. A border plus an image state with a nice scaling transition for responsiveness would look really cool in my opinion. However, this project’s open source so perhaps I will find some time to do it myself! However, I’m going to work on writing neater QML code first… right now I’m pretty familiar with QML but a big copy/paster, i.e. I lack any component organization!

    • Thanks a lot for the reply. I’m glad you liked the release and really appreciate you mentioning what could be improved. We going to focus on those issues immediately.

    • May I ask what were the issues you encountered when opening the menus ? The way we made it is that you press on the arrow, drag it over half the size of the menu and it should deploy itself, otherwise if it was less than half the size, the menu closes itself, a bit like the notifications menu on Android.

      The code has been changed to have only one menu open at the time, like you requested !

      For the plugins menu, I like your idea and I believe we could easily implement it but in the case you have downloaded 16 (or more) plugins and have only loaded 2 in a room, users might find it a bit annoying to have to scroll through all the list to see which ones were selected. I don’t know if you had thought about that scenario, maybe a gridview of smaller plugins would do the trick ?

      • For the menus, they just seem a bit shaky sometimes. It might be because how slow I’m pulling them out (on purpose). They still have a bit of flickering. I don’t know what the issue could be there. As for the plugins, I didn’t consider that. A grid view might be good, but I don’t know how that would work on smaller screens. What if you added a secondary, horizontal list view at the bottom that showed you the plugins currently in-use, and you can utilize the “shaking delete” effect you use for deleting rooms. That way you could maybe adapt it better to smaller screens.

        And thanks for the one menu being opened at one time! I think some of the problems/bugs I pointed out about the menus are simply glitches to be expected in an alpha release. In time, when you work more on the transitions/animations, they’ll probably look a lot better. The magic of QML is rapid prototyping 😉

      • Upon further investigation, I think the flickering I’m noticing might be a result of the darkness you are using as an overlay quickly popping up/going away. A fast NumberAnimation would probably solve that. Also, another quick NumberAnimation to expand the menus all the way up to the sides of the screen would definitely make it feel a lot smoother–in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

